40th International Energy Workshop (IEW)

The 40th edition of the International Energy Workshop (IEW) will be hosted by the Fraunhofer ISE, Freiburg, Germany, in the Konzerthaus Freiburg, Germany on May 25-27, 2022.


The workshop program will be announced soon in March 2022. However, tickets are already available now!


The IEW is one of the leading conferences for the international energy modeling research community. In a world of environmental and economic constraints, energy modeling is an increasingly important tool for addressing the complexity of energy planning and policy making.

About International Energy Workshop

The IEW provides a venue for analysts to compare quantitative energy projections, to understand the reasons for diverging views of future energy developments, and to observe new trends in global energy production and consumption.

The annual conference typically includes three plenary sessions and more than 100 presentations in parallel sessions focusing on a wide array of topics, including energy supply and price forecasts, energy savings and efficiency, renewable and innovative energy technologies, environmental and climate policy, and the intersection between energy analysis, economics, and the natural sciences.


IEW History

The first International Energy Workshop (IEW) was organized in Palo Alto in 1981 by Stanford University's Alan S. Manne, one of the founding fathers of energy economics. With the cooperation of Leo Schrattenholzer, a leading energy technology systems specialist at the International Institute of Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), the workshop became an annual conference, first alternating between IIASA and the United States, and more recently expanding to other locations in Europe, Asia and Africa. Throughout the history of IEW, a number of organizations have contributed to the success of these annual conferences, including notably the Energy Modeling Forum (EMF), the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) and the International Energy Agency (IEA). From 1981 to 1997 the IEW published annual editions of the IEW Poll, which became an important part of the Morita Database, compiled as basis for the IPCC Special Report on Emission Scenarios (SRES). From 2006 to 2008, the IEW was organized by co-directors Leo Schrattenholzer and Joseph E. Aldy. In June 2009 three new co-directors were elected by the IEW Steering Committee to run the International Energy Workshop:


  • Geoffrey Blanford, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), USA;
  • Massimo Tavoni, RFF-CMCC European Institute on Economics and the Environment (EIEE), Italy;
  • Bob van der Zwaan, TNO Energy Transition.